VERNON— Ciara Clarkin, a junior at Vernon Township High School, was elected District Governor of New Jersey Key Club at the recent annual convention in Long Branch, New Jersey.  Her brother, Ryan Clarkin, served as District Governor several years ago.   This is the first time a sibling has been elected to serve in the highest elected position for high school Key Club members.   Ciara Clarkin previously served at District Treasurer.  As governor, she will be responsible for the overall operations of the district board, training other officers, appointing committees and communicating with various levels of Kiwanis leadership.

Alyssa Sasso was installed as the Lieutenant Governor for District 22, following Aleksandra Bitko, who just finished a term as Lieutenant Governor.  Raven Ballantyne, former president of the VTHS chapter, was awarded the Distinguished President Award, which came with a $1,000 scholarship award.  Kelly Morse was awarded the Distinguished Vice President Award.

Key Club

Photo Caption: Mrs. Carol Cummins, advisor (left), celebrates the success of two of her Key Club members, (c) Ciara Clarkin, just elected District Governor for New Jersey’s twenty-two districts and Raven Ballantyne (r)  former VTHS chapter president, who was awarded  a Distinguished President Award, as well as a $1,000 scholarship.